Best Book Series #9: The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis

 C S Lewis, a writer and theologian, is best-known for his cherished children’s classics, the Chronicles of Narnia. Set in a magical parallel universe, the series follows a number of children who discover Narnia, where animals talk and Aslan, the mighty lion, is the ruler of them all.

With a lot of subtle and not-so-subtle analogies for the Christian faith, the stories deal with themes like trust, faith, and the battle between good and evil. With accessible language and gentle, beautiful storylines, this series can be a great book to read as a family or alone, whatever your age or interests. With adventure and coming-of-age, there’s something for everyone.

Whilst there have been films made of some of the books, they haven’t all had an adaptation made, which is a pity, as the stunning settings and young characters make for very appealing epics.

Series List:

The Magician’s Nephew (1955)

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)

The Horse and His Boy (1954)

Prince Caspian (1951)

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)

The Silver Chair (1953)

The Last Battle (1956)

Get in touch...