Best Book Series #6: A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This series of thirteen novels for older children or young teens follows the lives of three orphans, Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire, from the moment they become orphans.

Written in a mock-gothic style, the novels are full of wit and darkness. The narrator, Lemony Snicket, plays an important role in the stories, talking to the reader, and hinting at his own involvement in the proceedings.

As the Baudelaire siblings encounter disaster upon disaster, we watch them tackle life’s problems with ingenuity and teamwork. The self-aware tongue-in-cheek style of the narrative makes them an entertaining series for anyone well-read, whilst the exciting storylines and conversational tone make them ideal to hook in younger readers.

A film adaptation of the first three novels was made in 2004, but in spite of modest success, the subsequent books were not adapted.

Series list:

The Bad Beginning (1999)

The Reptile Room (1999)

The Wide Window (2000)

The Miserable Mill (2000)

The Austere Academy (2000)

The Ersatz Elevator (2001)

The Vile Village (2001)

The Hostile Hospital (2001)

The Carnivorous Carnival (2002)

The Slippery Slope (2003)

The Grim Grotto (2004)

The Penultimate Peril (2005)

The End (2006)

Get in touch...